The Rules of Whole30
Do Not Consume Added Sugar, real or artificial
No maple syrup, honey, agave, coconut sugar, date sugar, splenda, stevia, xylitol or any other sweetener or sweetener like substance may be used during your 30 days.
Do Not Consumer Alcohol, in any form - even in cooking
And ... ideally, you'll need to quit the tobacco products too
Do Not Eat Grains
This includes (and there are more!) wheat, rye, barley, oats, corn, rice, millet, bulgar, sorghum, sprouted grains, all gluten-free type cereals that use quinoa, amaranth and buckwheat. No bran, no wheat germ and absolutely no starch
Do Not Eat Legumes
This includes all forms of beans (black, red, pinto, white, kidney, lima as examples), peas, chickpeas, lentils an dpeanuts. No peanut butter. No soy. No Soy lecithin (often found in manufactured foods)
Do not consume carrageenan, MSG or sulfites
Read your labels. They are found in many products.